Select Page

Three Minute Thesis Competition

CONGRATULATIONS  to Diana Saavedra, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, who placed 1st in the 2017 CPMS 3MT competition!  Diana will advance to the university-wide 3MT competition which will take place at 11am on Thursday, 9 March 2017, in the BYU Varsity Theatre.  The first place winner of the university competition will receive $5,000; second place will receive $2,500; third place will receive $1,500; and the people’s choice will receive $1,000. We encourage students, faculty and staff to attend the university 3MT event and support Diana as she represents CPMS in this competition.

3MT, meaning “Three Minute Thesis,” is an annual event that challenges students working on a graduate degree to present their thesis in just three minutes. And to make matters more interesting, the students must explain it using language that a non-specialist audience will understand.

The judges critique participants on how well they: 1) explain their research; 2) spark the audience’s desire to know more; and 3) communicate in language “appropriate to an intelligent but non-specialist audience.”

Each college on campus holds a preliminary competition, and one student from each college advances to the university-wide final round.  The CPMS competition was held on Friday, 24 February 2017 in the Hinckley Center 3rd Floor Assembly Hall. The results of this competition are as follows:

  • Diana Saavedra, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry, placed first and received $1,000
  • Sarah Young, Department of Physics & Astronomy, placed second and received $750
  • Chandramouli Nyshadham, Department of Physics & Astronomy, placed third and received $500

Additionally, five honorary mentions received $50.  They are:

  • Brent Reichman, Department of Physics & Astronomy
  • Danielle Spencer, Department of Geological Sciences
  • Margaret Miles, Department of Physics & Astronomy
  • Ankur Jalan, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry
  • Michael Jensen, Department of Geological Sciences

Congratulations to all awardees!